Artist Spotlight – Jim Bruce

Name: Jim Bruce

Job Title: Credit Manager

Years at Burton: Eight

What do you really do?

I work in an awesome culture with extraordinary people.  In between the lines, I build relationships, collaborate, problem solve, confront, negotiate, counsel, compromise, lead, travel, team with my mates, hang with my dog and of course, ride.

Tell us a bit about yourself?

I try not to take myself too seriously (hence the bear-shorts photo).  I’m the keeper of some BIG secrets.  “Any major dude will tell you” that I’m passionate about the good life; food, friends, music, and a woman named Susan.  I love irony, the spirit of dissention, adventure, culture, travel, all things mystic, and the (all) arts.  I named my son ‘Dylan’ after a guy named ‘Bob’… and my motorcycle ‘Betty’ after a ‘Ram Jam’ tune (Black…).  Oh, and I love my dog’s Sully and Scout (Scout is featured in one of my paintings).

What are your reasons for creating art?

I would characterize my art as being less overt, more visceral; driven from a deeper place, primal maybe – always personal – often symbolist in style.  For me, my creative life over time has been an effective way to channel emotional energy, longing and/or angst.   My work more often than not inspires more questions than answers.  I create most of it for myself; it surrounds me like fingerprints.

Tell us about the work you will be submitting to the show.

I’ve selected three recent works for the show (pictured) and may enter a forth which is currently still in progress.

The first piece (a self portrait with Scout – acrylic) was created with intended humor; in sort of a cheeky old-school style.  Scout is a Jack Russell Terrier (for anybody who understands – OMG!) which we rescued at 10 weeks old.  I wanted to do something that would inspire smiles and snickers – I had great fun with color here.

The 2nd piece is entitled “Primal Window”.  It is intended to be more “symbolist” in style – also done in acrylic.  This piece juxtaposes a window, female form and animal.  It is intended to explore the mysteries associated with introspection, feminine/masculine energy and things carnal – with imagery and color equally relevant.

The 3rd piece is entitled “Gaze”.  This is a mixed media (oil, encaustic, and acrylic) portrait of a stoic female subject – complete with an obscure message which is only fully known by the artist (me) – done in the same spirit as code writing (where the code writer is the only one who knows) .  The intent here was to create intrigue all the while maintaining the integrity of secrecy.

Painting # 4 entitled “Rogue Monkey” (24” X 24”) – Medium / Acrylic

This was a fun painting to make, from content to color; the title of which was inspired by recent headlines about a “rogue monkey” in Japan terrorizing people – complete with daily alerts on a website about his whereabouts.  I found this story wildly humorous in a scary kind of way (easy for guy living in “monkey-free” New England!) – hence the wild color layering and strokes.  The frame will be covered in Japanese newspaper clippings I picked up in Tokyo and will include the piece which inspired the title.

Who/what inspires you?

Definitely not a finite list for me but I’ll share with you a few “things and people” that hit the spot for me this week:

Things; The Ocean inspires me.  Art culture inspires me.  The notion of authentic freedom inspires me.  Injustice inspires me, etc.

Peeps; John Brown, Jimmy Carter, Quentin Tarantino, Johnny Cash, Michael Hastings, Dennis Hopper, etc.

Local Peeps; Pat Leahy, Madeline Kunin, Jernigan Pontiac, etc.

Artists; Egon Schiele, Gustav Klimt, Max Scholder, Jasper Johns, (super long list here) etc.

Tell us one thing about you a lot of people may not know.

I’ve travelled around the world and lived in 9 states and somehow…

…I work just 1250 feet from where I was born.

Talk about gravity.

This entry was posted in Artist Spotlight. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment